I think I want to be an author

I’ve often thought about it. I mean, if every Sally, Mary and Jane can be an author these days, why can’t I?

Editing text is something enjoy. I get far too much pleasure out of correcting poor wording or grammar, more than I’m comfortable admitting. But there’s something exciting about writing, especially putting yourself at the mercy of someone else’s criticism.

(Side-note: pretty funny how you can go from 0 to 60 in a matter of days i.e. from discovering a passion for content to declaring an ambition to become an author).

It’s daunting. It’s anxiety-inducing. Will they like it? Won’t they? It’s exactly this struggle that has prevented me from doing something I said I would do over 7 years ago.

It might takes years. *Correction* It will take years. Mainly because I’ll be editing it constantly, even as I write, as that’s just how this old girl is wired.

But I’m willing to make the commitment, in this very public space, to write a book. Once it’s out there, you can’t take it back, right?


Check out this great post about commitment versus self-doubt in writing, by author Jami Gold.

Leave a Reply

